reflections on revelations, part 1

Stift_Göttweig_Kaiserstiege_Fresko_Engelssturz-s War in Heaven
Paul Troger [CC BY-SA 3.0 at (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/at/deed.en)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
“And there was war in heaven.  Michael and his angels fought against the dragon, and the dragon and his angels fought back.  But he was not strong enough, and they lost their place in heaven.  The great dragon was hurled down-that ancient serpent called the devil, or Satan, who leads the whole world astray.  He was hurled to the earth, and his angels with him,” Revelation 12:7-.

Notice that last sentence.  I’ve been thinking about its precise implications.  The dragon was in heaven, true.  There was war and the dragon was cast out of heaven, true.  But, I guess I’ve always thought the dragon was as big as God.  I was wrong.  If the dragon can be “hurled to the earth” that means he must fit on the earth.  I’m talking about size here as well as power, although the power aspect will be taken up in a later post.

For the moment, I want to comprehend how much greater God is so I consider Louie Giglio and Passion’s How Great is our God .  In the video, he compares earth to a golf ball and relates the golfball to some landmarks as they inform us about size of various stars in the known universe.  For example, Giglio compares one star to the Golden Gate Bridge and asks his viewers to imagine placing the golf ball on the bridge for perspective.  Hmmm.

Returning to known universe, we’ve kind of let go of that term, “known” but it still holds as true because there is so much of the universe that we have not yet even seen.  God holds the whole universe within Himself.  Inside of Him.  Hmmmmmm.  Colossians 1:17 says, “He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” [Italics added for emphasis.]

So, I have an enemy who is greater, or at least seems greater, than me.  But, my enemy fits on my planet with me.  And, God, who is greater and who holds everything within Himself, is for me.  for me? for me! and well, you too, dear reader, if you cling to the hope that His sacrifice means salvation for you, Romans 8:31.

[Capitols added and the word capitol spelled with an ‘o’ because of Who and What Christ is – the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, Ruler over everything.]

Indeed, what an awesome God we serve!  I love you, too, Lord.

3 thoughts on “reflections on revelations, part 1

Leave a Reply

