meeting the Lord, 1 of 3

English: Angel smites the Assyrians
English: Angel smites the Assyrians (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Everyone will meet the Lord at least once.  There is a Day of judgment coming for us all.  The Bible says Jesus told us to pray that we would be able to stand before Him.

When I was a teenager, I suffered the feeling of being scorched on the inside – a continuous feeling of being burned.  I tried everything I could think of to quench the fire I felt.  There is no temptation but that which is common to man (1 Corinthians 10: 13) so I will not go into those details, suffice it to say nothing worked.

One day I was waiting for my boyfriend and got bored or thought I might fall asleep and miss him or both so I wondered about what to do to stay awake.  I decided to go to a favorite bar.  Before this I hadn’t realized that bars are no fun without friends.  Anyway, an acquaintance spiked my drink and I began to feel nauseous so decided to go home.

I walked out to my car and could not get the key in the door lock.  I thought that if I laid my head on the hood, the coolness might revive me but the hood was still warm from driving.  As I lay my head down, I saw something against a nearby 2 story building.  It was in the shape of a man but was as tall as the building.  It beckoned to me, but I refused to go to it but I recognized it.  (Ever since I have wondered what would have happened if I had.  All I know is what did happen.)

I should tell you that, at the time, I hated God so much I decided I would worship His worst enemy and did for a number of years.  So, when I saw that the thing was an angel from the Lord, I asked, “Why did God send an angel to me?”  Then it said or I said, “This is going to be bad.”  At that moment, the acquaintance walked up behind me and asked, “Do you want to go home?”  Being naive, I nodded yes and got in the car with him.  I dug out my driver’s license because I could not talk straight so he would know my address.  He had other plans.

Sometime much later, he released me.  I think that that is part of the work of God, too, but those details are too private for this forum.  For the next few years, the angel’s presence and God’s caring about me provoked a continuous wondering, “Why did God, Who knew I hated Him, send an angel to me?!”

Related articles from me

Why God sent an angel to me 2 of 3

Why God sent an angel to me 3 of 3

4 thoughts on “meeting the Lord, 1 of 3

Leave a Reply

