real Hope

Several years ago I was telling a friend my dream and she quickly countered, “Put your hope in God!”  I was affronted but she was right.

Real hope comes when I remember that God ordains my circumstances so that I will reach out to and for Him, Acts 17:27.

More hope comes from Jesus’ declaration that if we seek His kingdom first, then all will be added.

So, why am I not seeing what I am looking for?  James 4 has the answer!

You do not have because you do not ask.  When you do ask, it is with wrong motives so that you can spend what you get on your own pleasures.

What do I do about my motives?  Put your hope in God for we can do nothing apart from Christ, John 15:5, but we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us, Philippians 4:13.

Leave a Reply

