discipline as attitude adjustment or vice versa

I once told a friend the Lord was changing my personality and I wasn’t sure how it was going to end up.  Sadly, I also had to tell her that I could not and would not change to suit her.  Thus, I suppose, ended whatever friendship we had.  [Were we ever really friends?]  I still hope that the Holy Spirit will change that and many other circumstances according to God’s will.  I, however, must press on to the goal set before us as Christ followers.

Once I was a complete, and completely naïve, optimist.  Then cynicism crept in and I learned my tongue could filet any situation or person ruthlessly.  I pushed back, against the cynicism towards idealism and this is where I determinedly began building my own little kingdom.  Reality kept pushing back against my idealism until my kingdom fell.

Usher in Integrity by Henry Cloud.  The sub title reveals Cloud’s take on reality:  The Courage to Meet the Demands of Reality.  At this point we are ready to discuss reality.

C. S. Lewis’ Surprised by Joy lends substance to what was nebulous sensation.  Creation was good.  Beautiful to my way of thinking and there remains some of that beauty.  Upon creation sin wrenched death so that, if we were looking into Narnia to describe what happened, we might see a withering begin in the first man and woman that soon spread to every thing.  In reality, we do not know what happened beyond what we are told in Genesis.  To clarify, reality is corrupted Creation including us, me.

This corrupted Creation must be navigated for God’s purpose by loving God with all our heart, mind, strength, & soul and by loving our neighbors as ourselves.  It must be for a good reason otherwise we wouldn’t be here.  As @kirkfranklin says, “Let’s go!”

[Unfinished, scriptures to come.]

Related articles

http://impact.klove.com/how-to-get-joy-and-keep-it/

Leave a Reply

