Job learns?, hope 11 of 34

Between Job 9:33 and Job 16:19-21 a remarkable change occurs.  I remember that in the former verse Job lamented, “if only there were someone to arbitrate [mediate] between us…,” NIV 1984/1987.  In the latter Job informs his listeners, “even now my witness is in heaven; my advocate is on high.  My intercessor is my friend…on behalf of a man he pleads with God as a man pleads for his friend,”  NIV 1984/1987.  Job knew about Jesus’ interceding on our behalf.  So, that brings up unanswerable questions.

Did Job live during or after Christ’s life on earth?  Or, did Jesus’ ministry as intercessor begin before His ascension?  We know Christ as Word in the beginning, was with God, and was God, my paraphrase of John 1:1.  We know that wisdom was brought forth as the first works of the Lord of hosts, my paraphrase of Proverbs 8:22 NIV 1984/1987.  I do not know if Job’s contemporaries matter as a salvation issue.  I do know this:

What really matters is that this same Friend intercedes on the behalf of those who believe in Him and calls us friend!!!  John 15:15.

Leave a Reply

