Previously entered as dirty laundry, messy hair and life, and being female

obopI am reposting this because, well, it’s important to keep first things first and remind myself of who I am.  Original found on the Wayback Machine at InternetArchive.org

dirty laundry, messy hair and life, and being female

Off beat, On purpose October 19, 2012 1 Comment

Matthew Paul Turner writes about the Southern Baptist Convention, Lifeway Publications and Rachel Held Evans having a hard conversation and drags Beth Moore into it.  Sorry Beth, me too.  Some think that’s bad.  I think hard conversations bring the dirt out into the Light where we allow God to deal with it and us.  So, let’s add to the conversation:

I might envy Beth Moore and Rachel Held Evans.  That’s me coming into the Light up front so you know where I stand.  My hair never lays smoothly on my head so I don’t fit the professional, public persona offered on Christian stages everywhere.  That also means that when those women (Beth, Rachel & others like them) speak, I feel like they aren’t really speaking to me.  They don’t really understand me and my pain and daily walk.  My life is and has been “messy,”  my walk very imperfect – even wild like my hair, I don’t wear any makeup because it all makes me break out – yes, even those brand names who make opposing claims –  but does that mean God thinks less of me and others like me?  Absolutely not.

So, if I were Queen of the Christian Women Speakers, I would come before you with hair out of place, no makeup, and the rawness that is borne out of my messy life.  Who knows, more women might feel like God had something to say to them.

Ah, we’re forgetting the topic at hand!  Should women be allowed to lead men as teachers.  Let’s look at what God has to say on the subject of leadership.

From Philippians 2:5-7 NIV 1984:

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:  Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.

I think that the Bible is clear.  We were never called to be leaders.  We were called to be servants.  Now the question is, “Who am I serving today?  right now?”  The fields are white, we’ve got work to do…coming?

Leave a Reply

