Repost: Storms

on storms

Off beat, On purpose October 30, 2012 1 Comment

5.22.04 Very cool storm clouds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve weathered a lot of storms in my life both as a child & as an adult.  The headlines state that the east coast took a beating so I thought I’d share my survival gear.  Its just a few verses from King David found in Psalm 23.  Yea, even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of Death I fear no evil for Your rod and Your staff comfort me.  My paraphrase.

Here’s what it means to me.  Losing your house, a loved one, or your place in your community are stones in the path in that valley of the shadow of Death.  Think of them as small deaths.  My dreams are buried there, a couple of children, hope in the world is buried there and now hope in politicians and the USA lies in fresh graves in that valley.  But.  I fear no evil…the Amplified Bible says something like Your rod and Your staff, one to comfort/protect me and the other to guide me.

That means:

#1 God is with me

#2 He is watching over me

#3 He’s going to come against whatever comes against me

#4 and He’s going to show me the Way out

It may look impossible and scary, but there is Hope.  In the words of Kirk Franklin, “Let’s go!”  My prayer for you is that you would know His presence and peace, in Jesus’ Name, may it be so.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

