Job’s hope – a living Redeemer, 13 of34

Job_and_his_friends
Ilya Repin [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
All scripture from the 1984/1987 NIV unless otherwise noted.

In Job 17 Job says,

  • v 1-3 “My spirit is broken….  Surely mockers surround me; my eyes must dwell on their hostility.  Give me, O God, the pledge you demand.  Who else will put up security for me?”
  • v 8 “The innocent are aroused against the ungodly”
  • v 11 “My days have passed, my plans are shattered”
  • v 15 “Where is my hope?  Who can see any hope for me?”
Job’s state is shocking and I am shocked by my own state of disaster but I remember what Job held to:  “I know that my Redeemer lives,” Job 19:25.
When disaster comes, and it will if you share in His sufferings, 1 Peter 4:13, remember Job and Job’s hope is our hope, too.  Set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Christ Jesus is revealed, 1 Peter 1:13.
Leave a Reply

