of Job and that blessed hope, 12 of 34

429px-Albrecht_Dürer_-_Sol_Iustitiae_(Sun_of_Righteousness)_(NGA_1943.3.3484)
Albrecht Dürer [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Scripture from the 1984/1987 NIV.

I began my walk with the Lord sometime in 1980 after 2 family members died less than a year apart.  Sometime before 1983 our church read through the Bible together.  That’s probably when I first met Job.  I know Job’s story has been my traveling companion for a long time so I do not know when I decided that by “seeing the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living,” Psalm 27:13, David may have meant the 2nd coming of Christ.  Imagine my surprise when I run into Job saying precisely that in this current re-reading!

In chapter 19:25-27 Job says, “I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.  And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes – I, and not another.  How my heart yearns within me!”  This last echoes Peter’s admonition and encouragement, “…look forward to the day of God and speed its coming…” 2 Peter 3:12 emphasis mine.

Leave a Reply

