knowledge – more on Job & hope, 24 of 34

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Blake%27s_Illustrations_of_the_Book_of_Job
By William Blake – The Morgan Library, extracted from Zoomify by User:GGreer, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=8034170

I didn’t get far in my reading:  When God begins speaking, in chapter 38, the first thing He asks is, “Who is this who darkens my counsel with words without knowledge?” 

I think to myself, “Is God referring to the knowledge that shuns evil?  But  God already has declared Job righteous to us and to Satan so how can that be?”  Then, I remember the footnotes so I go look them up.

First is Job 34:35 where Elihu speaks – I am leery of listening to the men God was angry with so I skip that part.  Next is Mark 10: 38 where James and John want places next to Jesus in His kingdom – Jesus says, “You don’t know what you are asking”.  Last is 1 Timothy 1:7 where Paul is warning Timothy about people who want to be teachers of the law, “but they do not know what they are talking about….”  Then Paul goes on to say the law “was not made for the righteous,” verse 8.

I take these things together to come to the conclusion that this use of the word knowledge means an understanding of God and his ways but still wonder if that includes shunning evil, Job 28:28.  Interesting coincidence since Biblegateway’s verse of the day today is Isaiah 55:8-9 where God says his thoughts and ways are higher than ours.

The hope here?  God does finally speak to Job and Job “sees His face,” Job 42:5, but I am getting ahead of myself.

Leave a Reply

