God and sarcasm, Job 28 of 34

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:William_Blake%27s_illustrations_of_the_Book_of_Job#/media/File:Blake_Job_16.jpg
By William Blake – William Blake Archive, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=6269381

I am stuck on God’s monologue.  Stuck for several reasons.  The most painful is this:  Was God sarcastic in Job 38:4 and 21?  I’m going to check some other versions.  Using Biblegateway and the addition of parallels I compare the NKJV, the AMP, the ESV, the NASB, and the Geneva Bible.  God sounds sarcastic, implying intent to hurt with mocking – to ridicule the stupid!  [Definitions derived from Webster’s New World Dictionary of the American Language, 2nd College Ed., 1979.]  Ok, so Job may be stupid in that he lacks understanding of these things, so am I.  Does sarcasm line up with the character of God who says in 2 Peter 3:9, “he is not slow as some understand slowness…not willing that any should perish…”?

Proverbs 3:34-35:  “God mocks proud mockers but gives grace to the humble.  The wise inherit honor, but fools he holds up to shame.”  Oh.  Was Job proudly mocking even though God said of him that he was “blameless and upright;  he feared God and shunned evil,” Job 1:1?  My thoughts turn to a book titled, Changes That Heal by Dr. Henry Cloud.

When I first read this book my main takeaway was that people are both good and bad so don’t throw them away because of the badness.  Seek God’s kingdom and see what God adds!

Ok, so my heart and soul are somewhat relieved.  If I am a proud mocker or a fool I will be held up to ridicule and shame but if I humble myself before the Lord, He will lift me up, James 4:10.  That’s hopeful.

Leave a Reply

