Taps on the shoulder

Knights of Christ Ghent Altar Piece
Image is cropped from: “Ghent Altarpiece E – Knights of Christ” by Jan van Eyck (circa 1390–1441) Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/…/File:Ghent_Altarpiece_E…

My brother who died in a car wreck was only 16, I was 20.  I grieved as one who had no hope for more than a decade until one day the Lord tapped me on the shoulder.  “You will have all eternity,” He said.  I’ll let Him unpack that for you just like He unpacked it for me.

The 2nd tap on the shoulder came as I was pondering how to get that blood money my grandmother had told me about.  When I turned around, I saw standing there the outline of a medicine man from ages ago.  I had a choice to make.  I could only have one in my life – the medicine man or the Lord.  I turned away from the medicine man.

“Resist the devil and he will flee from you,” James 4:7.

Leave a Reply

