the mountain of Joy

Knights of Christ Ghent Altar Piece
Image is cropped from: “Ghent Altarpiece E – Knights of Christ” by Jan van Eyck (circa 1390–1441) Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/…/File:Ghent_Altarpiece_E…

The writer of Hebrews 12:18-29 describes 2 mountains, assuring the follower of Christ that he, or she, has come to a festal gathering.

22But you have come to Mount Zion, to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem. You have come to thousands upon thousands of angels in joyful assembly, 23 to the church of the firstborn, whose names are written in heaven. You have come to God, the Judge of all, to the spirits of the righteous made perfect, 24 to Jesus the mediator of a new covenant, and to the sprinkled blood that speaks a better word than the blood of Abel. (NIV)

I can’t remember which translation uses that word festal but I liked it and hung onto it.

I just heard an orchestra tuning up and was reminded of another heavenly orchestra and choir.  Was it that festal gathering?  God knows.

When my boys were still in public school I had endometriosis and didn’t know it until I became so anemic that the doctor said that, if they did an emergency hysterectomy, I would never wake up.  For years prior to this diagnosis I had waked to the sound of music every morning before my alarm ever went off.  The day after my hysterectomy I woke to a quartet playing a lovely piece.  That was the last time I heard the music playing to wake me.

It was as if it stopped.  Or did it?

Leave a Reply

