sorrows and sea billows

Knights of Christ Ghent Altar Piece
Image is cropped from: “Ghent Altarpiece E – Knights of Christ” by Jan van Eyck (circa 1390–1441) Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/…/File:Ghent_Altarpiece_E…

I’ve already spoken about being tied to chairs here.  But I have not told of the heartache that came after being abducted.  Well, actually, it was the nail in the coffin lid.

I dated a man for about 3 years while I was in high school and he was in college.  We said we planned to marry.  He told me I needed to get serious about “this”.  He did not know of the inner pain I dealt with –  my soul sickness from wandering in the dry and thirsty land Isaiah 44:3.  We had broken our intimacy and were unfaithful to each other.

The morning I was released from captivity I was terrified of being followed by my abductor so, at first I kind of wandered but I really wanted to go home.  I just didn’t want him to go there, too.  Then I remembered in my foolishness I had given him my driver’s license and it had my address on it.  I went to my boyfriend’s house reeking of the scent the abductor had bathed me in while he was washing away evidence.

Hard words were said.  Tears fell.  Our relationship was over although he would come to the funerals for my brother and grandmother in a couple of years.

It was the worst heartbreak for me since my Dad walked out of the house after I told on my mom for tying us to the chairs.  I felt abandoned and unloved, uncared for by anyone.  Now I know that is a good thing, a best thing.  Let me explain.

In Acts 17: 26b-27 the writer tells us that God has “determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live.  God did this so that men would seek Him and perhaps reach out for Him and find Him…”  And so it was for me, but that is another set of chapters in this story, here, &here, and here.

Leave a Reply

