How shall we then live?

I am processing the deaths of multiple friends along with the death of dreams and my perception of the world.  I go back to the Bible to look for truth I can stand on.  Every time there is another death in our circle I have to revisit these questions.  I think that’s normal.

I had heard that friendship with the world was enmity with God, James 4:4.  The first few times I could not imagine how that could be but now….  Well, friends are dead; the career I thought I wanted turned out not to be what I wanted; and the world more contaminated by corruption and decay than I could have imagined.

Dr. Paul White sent an email yesterday, Thursday May 25, 2017, that gives good words for what I and others are experiencing:  how am I living my life and is it the way I want to continue?

Again, I must go to God’s word as the measure.

First, I am reminded that this circumstance is God’s will for me.  Second, if everything is meaningless, Ecclesiastes 1:1-11, how do I proceed?  The writer of Ecclesiastes tell us, “Remember your Creator” 12:1 and to “fear God and keep His commandments,” 12:13.

Those commandments are (from Matthew 22:36-40 and :

  • love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind
  • love your neighbor as yourself
  • go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation, Mark 16:15-16
  • go into all the world and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, Matthew 28:19

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

